How many organelles are in a cell?

Within the cytoplasm, the major organelles and cellular structures include: (1) nucleolus (2) nucleus (3) ribosome (4) vesicle (5) rough endoplasmic reticulum (6) Golgi apparatus (7) cytoskeleton (8) smooth endoplasmic reticulum (9) mitochondria (10) vacuole (11) cytosol (12) lysosome (13) centriole.

Plant cells have 3 more unique organelles: (14) cell wall (15) central vacuole (16) chloroplast.

An organelle is a tiny cellular structure that performs specific functions within a cell. You can think of organelles as a cell’s internal organs. For example, the nucleus is the cell’s brain, and the mitochondria are the cell’s hearts. Organelles are often enclosed by their own membranes, which divide the cell into many small compartments for different biochemical reactions.


[In this figure] The anatomy of an animal cell with organelles labeled.

Cell Organelles and their Functions cover

Cell Organelles and their Functions

  • What is organelle?
  • Organelles can be divided into three types
  • General organelles in every cell
  • Temporary organelles for specific tasks
  • Unique organelles in the plant cells